athletics

Athletics are an integral part of NEST+m Middle School—we take great pride in our teams and after-school clubs. The NEST+m Eagles sports program has grown over the past three years to include seventeen boys’ and girls’ sports teams and clubs. Students who want to participate must be passing all subjects and demonstrate good behavior. Practices are either in the morning, from 7 to 8am, or in the afternoon, from 3:30 to 5:30pm. Games and meets are generally held after school.

Middle School athletes play in citywide public-school leagues, and the NEST+m teams have been very successful making it to the playoff or championship rounds. Middle School Athletic Director Jaclyn O’Connor and the fellow coaches at NEST+m coach year-round to provide great opportunities for students to become physically active and learn valuable teamwork skills.

Fall Sports

  • Boys/Girls Soccer
  • Boys/Girls Cross Country
  • Boys/Girls Flag Football
  • Boys/Girls Table Tennis
  • Boys/Girls Tennis
  • Girls Volleyball

Winter Sports

  • Boys Basketball
  • Girls Basketball
  • Boys/Girls Track & Field

Spring Sports

  • Boys/Girls Track and Field
  • Boys Baseball
  • Girls Softball

Spring 2019 Schedule

Sport Co-Ed Track & Field Girls Volleyball Boys Baseball Girls Softball
Coach Kate Searcy Van Nguyen Richard Sullivan Charles Hohl
Email Ksearcy@schools.nyc.gov Bnguyen3@schools.nyc.gov RSullivan4@schools.nyc.gov chohl@schools.nyc.gov
Info meeting Mon. 3/11 @7:45am room 329 Tues. 3/5 @ 3pm room 365 Mon. 3/11 @ 12:20pm in comp. lab Thurs. 3/7 @ 12:20 room 325
Try out dates N/A Tues. 3/12 & Thurs. 3/14 Wed. 3/13 & Thurs. 3/14 Thurs. 3/14
Try out times N/A 7am-8am 2:50pm-5:15pm 2:40pm-5:15pm
Try out location N/A NEST gym Baruch field or FDR Baruch field or FDR
Practice days Tues. & Thurs. TBD
  • Wed 4/3/2019
  • Thu 4/4/2019
  • Wed 4/10/2019
  • Wed 4/17/2019
  • Thu 4/18/2019
  • Wed 5/1/2019
  • Wed 5/8/2019
  • Wed 5/15/2019
Wed, Thu, and/or Fri
Practice Times 7am-8am TBD  2:50pm-5:15pm
@ Baruch field or East River Fields
2:50pm-5:15pm
Games TBD Tentative game: Varsity/Junior Varsity away: PS 126 MAT Tuesday, April 9⋅4:00 – 5:30pm
80 Catherine St, New York, NY 10038, USAVarsity/Junior Varsity home game: NEST vs. City Knoll
Monday, April 15⋅4:00 – 5:00pmVarsity (no JV) home game: IS 259
Tuesday, April 16⋅4:15 – 5:15pm
Description: This game will be a home game. Only the Varsity team will be playing.

Tentative game: Varsity/Junior Varsity away game @ Tompkins Square MS
Tuesday, April 30⋅4:00 – 5:30pm
Tompkins Square Middle School, 600 E 6th St, New York, NY 10009, USA

Varsity (no JV) home game: East Side Community School
Monday, May 6⋅4:00 – 5:30pm

Varsity/Junior Varsity home game: SALK
Tuesday, May 7⋅4:15 – 5:15pm

Varsity/Junior Varsity home game: Tompkins Square MS
Tuesday, May 14⋅4:00 – 5:30pm

Tentative game: Varsity (no JV) away game @ Simon Baruch JHS
Monday, May 20⋅4:00 – 5:00pm

Varsity/Junior Varsity home game: WESS
Tuesday, May 28⋅4:30 – 5:30pm

Varsity/Junior Varsity home game: WESS
Tuesday, May 28⋅4:30 – 5:30pm

Wed 3/27/2019 3:45 pm v SALK @East River Park #2

Thu 4/11/2019 3:45 pm v Global @East River Park #2

Thu 4/18/2019 3:45 pm v MS104 Simon Baruch @East River Park #2

Thu 5/2/2019 3:45 pm v 131 @East River Park #2

Tue 5/7/2019 3:45 pm v IS 276 @Battery Park City Field

Thu 5/16/2019 3:45 pm v Global @East River Park #2

TBD